If you already thought that labor laws in California were confusing, hang onto your hat because 2020 is going to usher in some changes that could make things even more complicated.
Here’s a brief overview of some of the top things you should know:
Uber and Lyft drivers (and others) gain status
Drivers for ride-booking services have been classified as independent contractors since the services began, but Assembly Bill 5 re-classifies many of them as employees. If you do this kind of work, you may now be due a minimum wage per hour and other benefits (including sick leave).
Other groups of contract workers are also being reclassified, including many freelancers — which may or may not be welcome news to many.
The minimum wage is going up.
Californians have long been supportive toward a $15 per hour minimum wage — and employees will soon be earning either $12 or $13 per hour, depending on the size of the company by which they’re employed.
In some areas of the state, $15 minimum wages are already the norm, but the ultimate goal is to move everyone in that direction.
You’ve gained new privacy rights
Want to know what personal information a company is holding on you? You can now find out — and force companies that sell consumer information to delete what they have on you. Plus, the data that is collected on children under 16 years of age is no longer permitted to be sold.
If you believe that a company isn’t obeying the law in regards to your wages, benefits or other rights, it may be time to contact an attorney about your options.