Workplace retaliation is a serious problem. When people have a problem at work, they need to be able to tell their supervisors, the human resources department or other agencies without the risk of that coming back to hurt them. People should retain the right to make sure they're being treated fairly and can report harassment or other issues without losing their jobs.
The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) prohibits employers from discriminating against people of certain backgrounds. This includes those with disabilities along with others.
If you file for unemployment, it's possible that your employer could refute your claim. If he or she contests it, there's a chance that you could be disqualified from receiving it.
You got hurt on the job and expected your employer to help you get the compensation you deserved through workers' compensation. Just a little while after your accident, you are told that workers' compensation has denied your claim. Now, you think you might be out of luck, but the truth is that there are some things you can do.
There are times when you may not be working but still have to be paid. Under federal law, your employer may be required to pay you for your time if you are on-call, traveling for business or even sleeping while at the workplace.
Discrimination violates your civil rights in California. The Ralph Civil Rights Act states that it is illegal for anyone to be violent toward or to threaten to be violent toward a person because of his or her national origin, age, sex, marital status, gender identity, political affiliation and sexual orientation. The act also protects other people, and this list is not all-inclusive.
You work hard at your job, and you want to know that you're going to be paid in a timely manner. Lately, your check hasn't been coming on its typical day. You're worried that your employer might be breaking the law. What is the law, though?
In California, there are laws that protect workers who work overtime. While there are some positions that are exempt from overtime laws and regulations, the majority of people working in the state are able to seek overtime if they work more than a 40-hour week. In general, the law states that no person, except the exempt, may work over 40 hours in one week without receiving 1.5 times the normal regular rate of pay for any hours over the traditional 40-hour workweek. Anyone who works more than 12 hours in one day should be paid double for hours extending past 12 and again for all hours that are worked in excess of eight on the seventh day of continual work.
California Labor Law Section 1102.5 defines a whistleblower as an employee who witnesses and reports suspected cases of illicit activity by their employer. There are a number of different types of violations that might be deemed illegal that a whistleblower might wish to relay to either a law enforcement or government agency.
You go to work every day in the pursuit of a career that will support you and give you the income you need to do the things you love. As an employee, there are many rules and regulations you need to follow, but there are also protections in place to help you if you find yourself in a position where you're struggling at work or if you feel that you're not being treated appropriately.