All employees in California have the right to a safe and fair working environment. To ensure that this is the case, various state laws have been put into place. If these laws are breached by employers, it can be possible for the employees affected to take legal action.
California laws set the minimum wage for employees, and they regulate standards for meal and rest breaks, as well as overtime pay. The following is an overview of some of the rights you have as a worker in California.
How much must I get paid?
As a worker that does not receive tips, you have the right to be paid $11.00 per hour if your employer has 25 or fewer employees. If your employer has 26 or more employees, you must be paid a minimum of $12.00 per hour.
Do I have the right to overtime pay?
If you are nonexempt from the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), you have the right to overtime if you work more than eight hours a day or more than 40 hours in a week. You are likely to be nonexempt from the FLSA if you are not in a managerial role and you do not earn a regular salary. Overtime pay is set to one and one-half times your regular hourly rate. If you work for more than 12 hours in one day, you must be paid at twice your hourly rate.
If you believe that you are not being paid what you deserve as an employee in California, you must take action to assert your rights.